• DAY 1 – Public Program

      14 March 2012

      The Kaye Playhouse, Hunter College, East 68th Street (between Park and Lexington Avenues).


      Welcoming Remarks:  Jennifer J. Raab, President, Hunter College

      Introductory Remarks:  Mark K. Updegrove, Director, Lyndon Baines Johnson
      Presidential Library and Museum

      Keynote Address: Robert A. Caro, Author of The Years of Lyndon Johnson

      Opening Session – Presidential Leadership:  Making Washington Work

      Moderator: Bob Schieffer, CBS News Chief Washington Correspondent and Moderator of Face the Nation


      • Joseph A. Califano, Jr., LBJ’s Chief Domestic Advisor; former US Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare (1977-1979)
      • Ervin Duggan, LBJ’s Staff Assistant; former President of PBS
      • George McGovern, former Democratic Presidential Candidate, US Senator, and US Ambassador to UN Mission in Rome
      • Walter F. Mondale, 42nd Vice President of the United States and former US Senator
      • Bill Moyers, LBJ’s Special Assistant; President, Schumann Media Center


      DAY 2 – Academic Conference

      15 March 2012

      All Day 2 events will take place at the Roosevelt House Public Policy Institute, located at 47-49 East 65th Street (between Madison and Park Avenues).

      Continental Breakfast & Conference Registration

      Setting the Stage: Jonathan Fanton, FDR Fellow and Interim Director, Roosevelt House Public Policy Institute

      Keynote Address – Presidential Leadership: Challenges and Responsibilities: Michael Beschloss, Presidential Historian


      Session 1 – Poverty and Economic Opportunity, Then and Now

      Moderator:  Cordelia W. Reimers, Professor Emeritus of Economics,
      Hunter College and the Graduate Center of the City University of New York


      • Richard B. Freeman, Herbert S. Ascherman Professor of Economics, Harvard University
      • Robert H. Haveman, Professor Emeritus of Public Affairs and Economics and Research Associate at the Institute for Research on Poverty, University of Wisconsin-Madison
      • Frances Fox Piven, Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Sociology, CUNY Graduate Center
      • Leticia Van de Putte, Texas State Senator


      Short Break 

      Session 2 – Health Care

      Moderator:  Drew E. Altman, Ph.D., President and CEO, The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation


      • Joseph A. Califano, Jr., LBJ’s Chief Domestic Advisor; former US Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare (1977-1979)
      • Theodore R. Marmor, Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Public Policy & Management, Yale University
      • Louis W. Sullivan, former US Secretary of Health and Human Services (1989-1993); President Emeritus, Morehouse School of Medicine
      • Steffie Woolhandler, Professor of Public Health, CUNY School of Public Health, Hunter College


      Buffet Lunch

      Speaker:  Randall B. Woods, John A. Cooper Professor of History, University of Arkansas; Author of LBJ: Architect of American Ambition

      Session 3 – Education

      Moderator:  Joseph P. Viteritti, Thomas Hunter Professor of Public Policy, Hunter College


      • Patricia Albjerg Graham, Charles Warren Professor of the History of American Education Emerita, Harvard University
      • James P. Comer, M.D., Maurice Falk Professor of Child Psychiatry, Yale Child Study Center; Founder, School of Development Program
      • David Steiner, Dean, School of Education, Hunter College; former NY State Commissioner of Education


      Coffee and Tea Break

      Session 4 – Civil Rights

      Moderator:  Jonathan Rosenberg, Professor of History, Hunter College


      • Taylor Branch, Author of the historical trilogy, America in the King Years
      • Henry Cisneros, former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development and Mayor of San Antonio; Executive Chairman, CityView
      • Nick Kotz, Author of Judgment Days: Lyndon Baines Johnson, Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Laws that Changed America
      • The Honorable John Lewis, United States House of Representatives; former Chairman, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (1963-1966)

      Synthesis of Proceedings:
      Ira Katznelson, Ruggles Professor of Political Science and History, Columbia University

      Cocktail Reception & Roosevelt House Tours